I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue

January 14, 2009

‘The program that does for comedy what a large dollop of sage and onion mixture does to turkey’

I’m not quite sure how it happened. I was reading something here or here (or perhaps here), which took me here, leading me to look up something here, where I stumbled over hyperlinks to land up here, which lead me, in a complete roundabout, to ‘I’m Sorry, I Haven’t A Clue’

It’s a quasi-legendary, remarkably long-running comedy show originally thought up as ‘the antidote to panel games’, which had presumably crossed some unsavoury threshold into mind numbing mediocrity. Hosted by the grumpy, deadpan, but quite often brilliant Chairman Humphrey   (Humphrey Lyttelton, who’s also a jazz musician), it’s a much more honest, and wonderfully oddball precursor to things like Whose Line Is it Anyway (which I Never Really Liked Anyway) – complete with the craziest ideas for rounds ever, lovingly and painstakingly compiled in this astonishing list here.

isihac

My favourites include Uxbridge Dictionary (Where ‘dictionary’ is ‘the rude version of pictionary’,and ‘cursory’ is where ‘very young children learnt to swear’), the Calvinball-esque Mornington Crescent, and the rediscovery of lost correspondence between Doctor Who and Davros, leader of the Daleks.

Oh, there’s so much more to recommend – The BBC archives are rude and uncooperative, but Youtube (and Shhhh…the wide world of p2p as well) come to the rescue, and there’s tons to watch…like the panelist’s suggestions for the ‘X-Rated Children’s Television Market’, completing incomplete George Bush quotes, finding links between lists of items ‘shamelessly pillaged from trivia books’, and the half-hour live ‘special’ from a few years back.

Oh, and anyone up for a game of Delhi-centred Mornington Crescent? It would totally work, with shameless use of the Metro and all.

Update: Why do I feel like the whole world secretly knows all about this show (It’s possible – it’s famous and everything) and is now pointedly sniggering at me with exaggerated shoulder motions and fake whispering?

2 Responses to “I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue”

  1. Andrew said

    Do you have a copy of the ‘Lost Correspondence Between Davros and Doctor Who”?? Or know where it can be found. It was possibly the funniest thing I’ve ever heard on ISIHAC and now it’s been taken off youtube! I can’t find it anywhere! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

