Cooking Advice, Bank Loans and New Neighbours

March 25, 2009

As per usual, and apologies for the uneven scan quality…I bought a new notebook for the comic, whose binding makes scanning a little difficult.

Clickies for full size.

Mostly an experiment to draw in more background details. I had a bit of trouble maintaining dimensions, so this one ended up like those old Chacha Chaudhary issues with a wildly variable Sabu.

Mostly an experiment to draw in more background details. I had a bit of trouble maintaining dimensions, so this one ended up like those old Chacha Chaudhary issues with a wildly variable Sabu.

untitled-2

Sigh. Unfortunately all true. And yes, I do use the cellphone with my left hand.

Fun to draw. Funner to colour. Text placement could use a bit of work, though.

Fun to draw. Funner to colour. Text placement could use a bit of work, though.

6 Responses to “Cooking Advice, Bank Loans and New Neighbours”

  1. Jai Iyer said

    Hey Sottai, neat strip. I’d recommend the Rubberband ( http://rubberbandproducts.com) notebook/sketchbook from Landmark.
    They have it in shocking yellow/green/pink/blue colours ; look for the pleasant beige one. ( 70 bucks for a5 , 90 pages, comes in err plain / ribbed 🙂 ) Its quite nifty.

    • sottai said

      =) Thanks so much Jai!

      I looked up their (spiffy) website, and yep – some of their checked notebooks are exactly what I’m looking for. Looks like I have make a trip to the Saket Citywalk Mall to pick up some of this stuff. I haven’t been to one of them malls in ages. Gulp.

  2. KK said

    Man, awesome. I HAVE to try out the Maggi masala + lemon combination right away.
    I love the last panel in the Mr. Bhire strip!

  3. pffermintpatti said

    There’s just something cheery about looking at three comic strips together.I recommend a Sakuro Calligraphy pen.A 2.00 mm one.And ooh,for kicks,get
    their brush pen too.It’s one of those things that help you arrive at the degree of minimal you want (in strips or illustrations, even) in exactly the way you want it,know what I mean?

    You can finish your drawing and just ascend a cloud,types.:P

  4. buddy said

    i dont ever remember sabu being variable :s

    nice cartoons!

    • sottai said

      KK: Thank you! And dude, Maggi Masala with anything is awesome. Except maybe Bournvita.

      Patti: =) Hehe. I know the kind you’re talking about. I remember running amok with a charcoal pencil a while back: it made any ugly scribble look impossibly lovely.

      Buddy: Thanks! And, oh, it used to happen all the time. Dont have the books on me now, but I remember his size relative to the buildings around him used to vary wildly.

Leave a Reply

