Asking Someone Out

October 10, 2009

asking

I spent the last week trying to ask someone out.

The decision, I think, was made while staring into the swirling vortex of freshly stirred coffee on a Monday morning. It was industrial grade coffee, of course, brewed by the eternally whirring coffee machine in our office. I’m eternally suspicious of it, convinced it contains industrial-grade additives that addle unprepared minds.

Of course, this was also the first time I’d be asking someone out. Don’t get me wrong, I have been in relationships before…I’ve just never had to encounter this particular part of it. Usually, I get off easy, either being asked by the other person (once), or through a wordless understanding that somewhere, an invisible line separating the verdant plains of platonic friendship from the rocky cliffs of relationship-land had been crossed (twice)

So yeah.

Said person works in the same office, and the idea was to just bring it up in conversation at the end of a workday. Monday and Tuesday I chicken out. But of course.

I’d prepared for this eventuality. So no problems there.

The conversation had been endlessly rehearsed in my head, with some furious mental debates on the grammatical structure of it. I settled finally for use of the word ‘would’ and the sentence prefix ‘So….umm…’ accompanied by scratching of head.

Wednesday, goaded by insistent calls to action by supporters on IM, I decided it was the day. Unfortunately, at 2:00, she is sent on assignment, one that might take more than 3 hours. ‘I’ll probably just head home straight from there,’ she typed on IM.

My heart sank. ‘Come back, no?’ I ventured, throwing in a few sad smileys.

‘Whyyyyeeeee???? ๐Ÿ˜€ :D’ she asked.

Closing my eyes momentarily, my fingers poised over the keyboard, I considered the moment. An uncomfortably inviting question, to be sure, one whose tone set up a potential response quite well.

But no.

I couldn’t during office hours. Something about that seemed wrong. ‘I’ll be….umm…really bored.’ I replied, instantly regretting it.

‘Blah,’ was all she said.

Thursday, there was a citywide rerouting of traffic in effect, with most major roads into Central Delhi cordoned off. As luck would have it, she found herself unable to come to office, and spent the day at home.

‘I triiiieeeed! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ :(‘ she said in defence.

So Friday, then.

After hours of squirming, almost-quites and false starts, I finally asked her from the passenger seat of her car at 6:25 pm, speeding down Mathura Road towards Nizamuddin.

I swallowed a few syallables from my rehearsed sentence, but I think I did pretty okay.

‘Wdyou liketo Gaahhwtth me?’ was approximately how it sounded.

She said no.

15 Responses to “Asking Someone Out”

  1. Alas! Self pwned?

    – PM

    “‘Tis better to have loved and lost than to have fallen in a pond full of piranhas” – Puppy Manohar

  2. Marc said

    Now that you’re experienced at this sort of thing you can try your luck with the other ladies in the office.

  3. Anand said

    Hey!! Since she’s otherwise seems a very enthusiastic friend, I think you should be sure if the no is a ” Oh my god, he just asked me out” NO or a “How could he even think like that about me!!” No. In case of the former, once it sinks in, she might change her mind…

    Either way, All the best dude. Love your blogs.

    Anand

  4. KK said

    Ah man. There’s always next time.
    Or maybe she would have said yes if she understood your question properly.
    I don’t know too many people who enjoy “Gaahhwtth”-ing people. It sounds like some sort of medieval torture.

  5. Laksh said

    Oh come on KK, you don’t know what ‘gaaahhwtth’ – ing is? It’s not medieval torture…it involves sitting under a tree (garden will also do), eating bajji on the beach and then going home to play Rock Star. Get with the times kaka.

  6. Arthi said

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I expected more. I was laughing out aloud when I came to the last sentence. Thanks for the laughs!

  7. Amit said

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice one … However, one more try would not have harmed anyone ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Parul said

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I would’ve said ‘yeah, okay!’

  9. Parul said

    So, I’m out of patience already =) Could we chat sometime? It would really help. I wont feel like a stalker, for one. Howwbtt it? =D

    • sottai said

      Haha. I have to admit that is slightly weird – and I’m not sure how this will help, but my contact details are on the About page. Send email.

  10. […] – In retrospect, this. […]

Leave a Reply

